Who has the time?

Sometimes learning is less about being difficult than it is about finding the time. That’s my motto for this month and for the #3skillsyeg challenge through Edmonton Public Library. When I was invited to take on this challenge I was thrilled to say yes! What I forgot was that I’m immersed in my busiest time of the year with festival planning for the Edmonton Poetry Festival, with being a mom and with my executive arts education classes through the Rozsa Foundation and the Alberta School of Business. Did I mention the fact that I’m frantically editing (hint re-writing) my paranormal novel as well? Something has to give and it can’t be what I get paid to do, or my family.

I’m not saying this to appear busy. I’m not saying it for sympathy. I’m saying it because I know as adults we ALL juggle insane schedules. That we ALL somehow let the creep of being involved and present in the community take over our lives.

Really we need to stop that! We don’t need to be superpeople!

So as I was frantically thinking that I hadn’t done enough; as I was stressing about it, I saw a tweet from a friend saying she was learning Italian by using the phone app Duolingo. I googled Duolingo. It’s this really simple FREE second language app. They offer ten different languages and it is simple and easy. The creators of the app suggest ten minutes a day. Last night I used it while laying in bed listening to my partner snore.

There you go – update for the week. “Lo sono una donna”

Oh and here is a picture of my dog – just because.

 

IMG_9740

Leave a comment